The most curious thing about the first ODI between India and Pakistan was Inzamam’s dismissal, given out obstructing the field. It’s a very rare dismissal.
1. Out Obstructing the field
Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if he wilfully obstructs or distracts the opposing side by word or action. It shall be regarded as obstruction if either batsman wilfully, and without the consent of the fielding side, strikes the ball with his bat or person, other than a hand not holding the bat, after the ball has touched a fielder. See 4 below.
2. Accidental obstruction
It is for either umpire to decide whether any obstruction or distraction is wilful or not. He shall consult the other umpire if he has any doubt.
Now it seems to be a clear cut case to me. Michael Holding questioned the spirit of the appeal, but to my mind, I have no complaints. I think Inzamam was being a bit of a smartarse, and he paid the price.
The other thing worth noting is that as cricket fans, we can now use tools like google video to replay and examine incidents like this. I think the future is bright for humanity in general. For cricket bloggers in particular, things are looking simply marvellous!