Is it even news?

So, Inzamam has been found guilty of bringing the game into disrepute but not of ball tampering, and has had the minimum penalty awarded for his indiscretion. Would any surprised parties please raise their hands?

What, no takers?

After the seeming lack of concrete evidence, it would be hard to say anyone expected a different result. Sky’s exaggeration of Shoaib Akhtar’s thumb-flick had more televised credibility. Of slightly more interest is Hair’s removal from the ICC Trophy list for reasons of ‘safety and security’. Should Hair really be in fear of injury if he umpires on the subcontinent? Or is this merely damage control?

Comments are closed.